Keeping Up with the…Knowledge

Upkeep. Something all blondes know a thing or two about. We need to book a quarterly trip to the salon to keep our roots at bay. Anyone who has taken the step to being platinum blonde knows that once you go blonde you’re in it for the long hull and you need to be very diligent about keeping your hair looking fresh. 

My hair colour isn’t the only thing that needs to be kept up but also my knowledge. I’m talking continuous learning. Learning doesn’t stop after university or onboarding,it needs to be maintained. Now there is more than one way this can be done. I will discuss a few of my favourites. 

Read the news. You’d be shocked, there’s a great big world out there that you likely don’t know too much about. You should keeping up with world events and business news. Understand what is happening with economy or the current trends in your industry. Having knowledge that goes beyond your day to day craft can put you ahead of the game. This will give you a more big picture opinion of the world and change your overall perspective. 

Listen to podcasts. I have just recently jumped on the podcast train and let me tell you I am so glad I did. There are so many knowledgeable people talking about all different topics. There is literally a podcast for any niche. It’s also easy to play in the background or listen to while you’re walking or driving. Once you find a podcast you like you can usually discover more by following the guests or through ads for others. 

Take a class. I recently took a French class through the municipality and it was great! It was something that always interested but I was scared and didn’t know where to start. The classes at universities were way too expensive so I opted for one that is subsidized by the City of Toronto. I was very impressed! The teacher was from France and was very meticulous in helping us. It was no walk in the park but I finished the course with basic knowledge of the language and motivation to keep learning. 

Find a mentor. The most I have ever learned about the work I do was from my mentors. I have spoken about this before but I will say it again: find a mentor. This is the person that will teach you the unwritten rules. I go to my mentor with sometimes juicy questions and I know I will get an honest response. Sometimes our conversations are directly related to Work but often times she is showing me the ropes of a workplace in a more general sense. 

The worst thing you can do is start a job and think that you know everything you need to know just because you have an education. There is so much more to it and keeping up with current events, trends and knowing the inside scoop will help you continue to develop yourself as a person. Maturing as a young professional will help you with your reputation and will allow you to showcase your knowledge. 

The same way you need to keep your highlights fresh avoid looking unkept you need to keep up with the world to avoid looking oblivious. So book a hair appointment and make sure you bring a newspaper with you. 

Leave a Reply

